Tuesday, May 8, 2007

Amateur night?



"A seductive fusion of finest quality XO cognac from France with the essence of ripe melon, black raspberry and lush tropical fruits"Yes, yes, what they neglect to add is that when splashed with seltzer, creates a potent drink that tastes as harmless as grape soda, thereby inducing slightly inebriated girls named Chrissy to imbibe *most* of the bottle, leading to *serious* inebriation. Especially when said girl is being fed keg-sized cups of said concoction by her very favorite sister-in-law(who is downing massive quantities of mudslides) and brother, leading to hilarious kitchen hijinks involving numerous plastic champagne flutes and bottles of Moet. It was simple, really, those little plastic champagne flutes you have to assemble yourself, snap the base onto the stem, and voila! High-class. Well, from experience.. if you spend oh, five minutes putting forty together, and proceed to knock them all onto the floor, some falling in the process of you picking up the first ones you dropped, you're going to spend another five minutes to ten minutes searching for all the plastic bases, 30 seconds debating whether or not to wash them, and another 5 minutes RE-assembling them, all while assorted friends and family members point and laugh at the two clumsy idiots, mention repeatedly that it's dangerously close to midnight and no one has champagne, and really, just laugh at you. Also. Never put bottles of champagne in the hands of people who have been drinking Xoteric for the past three hours, and charge them with the responsibility of pouring for forty people, and then transporting the filled glasses into the living room. ..... Samba did not have Xoteric, and that made me sad. But I quickly consoled myself with a potent Malibu Bay Breeze, and told myself, "damn, I'm drinking like a champ!" Twenty minutes in the club was enough to convince me it wasn't worth MY New Year's revelry, so we put together a hunter-gatherer (hunting parties, gathering alcohol) group and headed back out into the night. A quick tour of the surrounding area showed us that nothing was really screaming "Come on in and party!", so we did what any self-respecting hunter-gatherers would do, we went back to my brother's house and the original party. Marie and I reminisced over old war stories, mainly, the time at my brother's wedding when we raided the groomsmen's limo for their supply of beer. The take was a sixpack, the memories, priceless! Three girls in formal gowns(Debbie came for moral support) tearing down 18th avenue with bottles of beer, some open, being chased by six guys in tuxedos.. ahhh.. memories. (sure, they ran right into the nearest bodega and bought 4 more cases, but still..)Oh, and also that time at the Casbah, when we had to shanghai a waitress. Oh yeah, and the time just a few hours ago, when the XOteric supply seemed to be running low, and we had to protect the last bottle.Marie just might be a bad influence.Anyway. We got back to the house and it seemed like everyone had had the same idea as us, as the adults had fled and other partygoers were reconverging with fresh supplies of booze. So Nancy and I reheated the stellar riceballs we made, threw the pigs in a blanket back in the oven, uncovered the chafing dishes of lobster ravioli, gnocchi, chicken, and whatever else there was left, and a good time was had by all. Except for maybe that guy Joey that someone brought, who spent most of the night snoring on the floor by the stairs. Heh. We had fun laughing at him though. I woke up this morning, sitting upright, my head on Gil's shoulder, snuggled up into the couch, thinking "wow... Not only do I not have to ask what his name is, but I didn't even get laid!" Sadly. Not that I have to ask that question often, but it seemed an appropriate thought.And this was also the first time in three years that I didn't wake up in my bed at the beach house with Chris-my-New-Year's-buddy in my bed. I think it's a good change. So yeah, a shower and some food later, I'm off to Home Depot, because really, what better place on earth is there? And then to find some pizza, cause hey, I'm craving. Hope everyone else's night was good too =)

7 comments:

hl1dgt said...

mmmm... Moet. me and Mr. Moet were good friends last night... very good friends.i wanna drink purple stuff.

mialulsm said...

heh... as long as the Captain didn't meet the Captain again ;)The purple stuff is goooooood!

cakdsik4es said...

I will have to find some of that stuff, sounds GOOD! The picture of it is downright sexy...If pics of booze can be sexy.Glad you had a good time. I didn't drink too much, but my wife made up for me! *smooch* Happy New Year!

aronosn7 said...

wow i miss knowing people that know how to have fun... sounds like good times were had by all :) i worked all night and got home at 5 am but i did get so drunk i cursed at my boss and other suchness hahah so i aint complainin...

keoniphoenix said...

heh, good times were had by most ;)how're things with the boss now that you're sober?

Anonymous said...

heh, I think I know what you mean ;)Your wife sounds like a woman after my own heart!Happy new Year to you too... and email me your name and address, so I can send you some fudge, dammit!

dggsinthedark1562yahoocom said...

he loves me to death.... he thought it was funny and i wasnt nearly as drunk as a few other people (actually i think i just handle it better) so it kinda distracted the boss from noticing me anyway... im gonna post all the happeneings of the night in a few mins if ya wanna check it out on my journal