Saturday, July 7, 2007

So much for cutting out caffeine from my diet ;)



Okay, in my ill begotten post last night, I mentioned a roadtrip that included drinking vast quantities of this: "Manhattan Special Espresso Soda" It's produced by a Brooklyn bottling company, and I'm not even sure if it's distributed outside of NYC and the boros.This is the godfather of that creamy Starbucks-in-a-bottle-coffee-to-go-crap crap. Ultra thick, ultra sweet, mildy carbonated espresso. Mmm, mm delicious. When we were kids, it was a big treat when your parents gave you a few sips of this sugar-rush-in-a-bottle. You could only get it in the salumerias and lattticinis, or some of the more old-world pizza places. Now that my old neighborhood is no longer predominately Italian, it's getting harder and harder to find, to the point that many people believed the company went out of business.However... it still exists and we found it!! Find some and drink it! Heh. A piece of Brooklyn history ;) Manhattan Special

1 comment:

gadgecholit45yahoocom said...

I don't know if you are familiar with the Japanese beer giant Kirin, but they have a wicked drink called 'fire' for sale. It's basically like a turbocharged espresso in a tiny little can. Has to be the most intense caffeine experience I've ever had. I've gotta try this stuff too, tho. I don't know where to find Kirin's where you live but try the asian supermarkets.